Recognised Award Holders of Basic Cave Leader (BCL), Cave Leader (CL) and SUI Cave Instructor Certificate (CIC) holders

Holders of the BCL and CL awards are required to hold up to date SUI membership, a valid first aid certificate as well as attend a revalidation event every 5 years.  The complete list of current, recognised award holders is below.  The list includes CIC members who are SUI members. The list is fully comprehensive, is correct as of 1st Jan 2014.

The Department of Transport, Tourism and Sport has published guidelines on leadership in outdoor pursuits centres and adventure sports companies which includes a recommendation that only those with recognised qualifications should lead groups on adventure sports activities.


Basic Cave Leader

  • Barbara Schaller
  • Brian MacCoitir
  • Cillian Burke
  • Eoghan Mullan
  • Gerry Woods
  • Jacintha Buckley
  • Jimmy Kelly
  • Joanna McInerney
  • Joanne Finnegan
  • Kate Lavender-Duncan
  • Magda Kluj
  • Sebastian Nalewko
  • Shauna McGuire
  • Tim O’Connell
  • Tony Furnell

Cave Leader (note that all Cave Leader award holders will also hold the Basic Cave Leader award)

  • Adam De Eyto
  • Adrian Thomas
  • Artur Lach
  • Colin Bunce
  • Davy Walsh
  • John Sweeney
  • Marius Leonard
  • Pam Fogg
  • Phillip Walker
  • Terry Casserley
  • Una Donoghue

Cave Instructor Certificate

  • Nigel Ball
  • Tim Fogg
  • Follow the SUI on Twitter @CavingIreland

  • Try Caving (Ireland) on Facebook